

PRESS RELEASE

OREGON HOUSE DEMOCRATS

For Immediate Release Nov. 13, 2018 For More Information, Contact: Aaron Fiedler: 503-986-1904

Oregon House Democrats Elect 2019 Leadership Team

House Democrats come into upcoming session with 38 seats

SALEM – Oregon House Democrats, fresh off election victories that saw the caucus' majority expand to 38 members, has elected their new leadership team for the 2019 Legislative session.

Rep. Tina Kotek has been nominated to serve an additional term as Speaker of the House, while Rep. Jennifer Williamson was re-elected to serve in her role as the House Majority Leader.

2019 House Democratic Leadership Team

Speaker of the House nomination: Rep. Tina Kotek

Speaker Pro Tempore nomination: Rep. Paul Holvey

House Majority Leader: Rep. Jennifer Williamson

House Majority Whip: Rep. Barbara Smith Warner

House Majority Deputy Whip: Rep. Rob Nosse

Assistant House Majority Leader: Rep. John Lively

Assistant House Majority Leader: Rep. Julie Fahey

Assistant House Majority Leader: Rep. Janelle Bynum

Additional members serving in ex-officio leadership positions are Co-Chair of the Joint Committee on Ways and Means, Rep. Dan Rayfield, and Chair of the House Committee on Revenue, Rep. Nancy Nathanson.

"Over the next legislative session, we have incredible opportunities to move our state forward," Majority Leader Williamson said. "With our leadership team in place, I am excited to get to work tackling our most pressing issues and fulfilling our commitments to our fellow Oregonians. Together, we will make Oregon a better place to live for everyone who calls it home."

"Time and again Oregon House Democrats have led the way, advancing policies that improve lives and protect rights," Majority Whip Smith Warner said. "Now is the time for us to roll up our sleeves and come together to continue that work so that every Oregonian has access to the best that our state has to offer." The constitutional officers—Speaker of the House and Speaker Pro Tempore—are elected by all House members on January 14, 2019. The 80th Legislative Assembly officially begins its work on January 22, 2019.